A Step Back in Time…


It’s funny isn’t it, how a certain sight, sound or smell can instantly transport you back to another time, to a specific memory. Sometimes a memory you didn’t even know existed.ย 

Over the past couple of years, seeing a programme or film on telly has suddenly taken me back to being a kid – it’s hard to explain the feeling you get, a bit of a warm fuzzy realisation….? Brambly Hedge, Percy the Park Keeper and Camberwick Green, are the main TV programmes I’ve happened across. Wow. Please tell me I’m not the only one to remember these?ย 

It’s the same with music, especially as a dancer. We hear SO much music over the years, especially if you started training as soon as you learned how to walk. Some songs are obvious ones – songs that you really loved rehearsing and performing to, or associate with a certain person or event. But some music you don’t even think about, it’s only when you hear it years later that it gives you goosebumps.

Last week, it happened massively. I was covering an evening at Studio 3 and had the chance to teach 3 classes of Riverdance. I’ve always loved Irish, my first solo I made up for the Choreography Competition when I was 7 was ‘Cry of the Celts’ from Lord of the Dance. I really missed it (Irish) when I went away to train, but that was 5 1/2 years ago, I guess I got used to not doing it – I’d forgotten until Thursday how much I love it, the style, the music. ย 

Dancing and teaching those was a weird experience. Total role reversal. But I loved it. Especially when ‘Reel Around the Sun’ came on. Any of you who danced at Studio 3 know that dance. And the intense music in the introduction. The girls in the class even said how much that piece of music gets their heart racing. And it’s true. Yes we love it at the time, but when you hear it years later and still remember all the choreography too…that’s one intense feeling.

I love that feeling of nostalgia. I always have, it just makes me really happy. I’m looking forward/hope for more moments like that ๐Ÿ™‚

Lynette x

P.S. It’s Christmas show week this week, if you’re on Snapchat, give me an add (lynette_s3dance) for behind the scenes on rehearsals, prep and show day madness – there’s gonna be a lot of drama and festive fun ๐Ÿ˜‰ย 

Leave a Reply

