Hello 2017…


Well then! Happy New Year to you all! I can’t believe how fast 2016 went – I observed with several people over the last couple of months that each year seems to go quicker than the last. Can you remember when we were at school and the terms dragged onnnnnn and onnnnnn and onnnnnn. It felt like we spent our entire lives there. Half terms were only actually 6 weeks long! Now, 6 weeks goes by in the blink of an eye. Weird.

I hope you all had a lovely Christmas and New Year and spent it as you wanted, whether that be with friends, family, or colleagues (for those of you out there who had to work) ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It’s such a nice feeling to have friends and family come back home for Christmas. The feeling of the place changes and you easily pick up and adopt old traditions. Whether that’s an annual party (big nod to the Corrins, you hosted an excellent party, as always), games day, night at the pub, countryside walk or quick cafe visit. 

49f4eda9a94de446169d850e5f8a77cc_screenAnd whilst there are plenty of nice traditions…there ARE a couple that crop up every year, that you pray you’ll maybe escape this time…

  • The DVDs/tapes that are brought out, of you and your sibling/siblings as kids…
  • The quizzing from the grandparents about why you don’t have a boyfriend… 
  • Losing at Monopoly. Every. Year. 

Nevertheless, it’s a wonderful time of the year and regardless of the negatives, we know we’ll look forward to it just as much next year. 

So, Christmas is over, you’ve stuffed yourself with left overs, drunk enough Baileys to fill a bath and struggled with the random limbo week where we don’t know what to do. Now comes the New Year. For me, New Years has never been anything special. But this year, I’m home and I got to spend it with exactly who I wanted. Not watching High School Musical 1-3 back to back in my studio flat in Hammersmith (yeh, I saw in 2016 really well, don’t be jealous) ๐Ÿ˜‰

Which brings us to New Years resolutions. I understand that a New Year seems an appropriate time to make lifestyle adjustments. But a ‘Resolution’ feels like such a big title – we put a lot of pressure on ourselves to achieve something, which is sometimes unachievable (‘I want to quit this, I want to quit that’). As with any change, I feel baby steps are the way to do it. So instead, I like to acknowledge what makes me happy, and  if there’s anything about my life I’d like to change. The main one for 2017: I want to spend less time on social media in my spare time (especially now that parts of my work are heavily based/dependent on it). I think the majority of us can put our hands up and admit we could make better use of the time spent aimlessly scrolling. Pass me a book.

socialn-media

2016 was a strange year for me. A lot happened. Lots of big life decisions – but I’m happy with the decisions I made. I’m going into 2017 happy, with a job I love, in the place I love, surrounded by the people I love. It’s a new chapter. And I can’t wait to see what the year brings. 

Sending best wishes for 2017 to you all,
Lynette x

P.S. New Year, New You (please forgive me for saying that) – I have new adult classes starting at Studio 3! Dance classes for beginners and fitness classes for all abilities! I’m so looking forward to these, ESPECIALLY after piling on the Christmas pounds! :’) For more information, head to my Instagram (lynette_s3dance) or search for Studio 3 Dance Workshop on Facebook ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

