‘Krazy’ Rehearsals…


How do you know it’s show time? When you blink and three weeks have gone by with no blog post! Didn’t even realise… SO! Here we go. Because Studio 3’s annual show, ‘Dance Krazy’ at Harrogate Royal Hall, is NEXT WEEK! Despite the title, I’m not going to talk TOO much about my pieces in the show – I haven’t really given much away on social media – about what we’ve been doing OR how rehearsals have been. But, as always, I’m just putting thoughts out there that have been influenced by what’s going on in my life. So let’s just roll with it…

Before going away to train, I performed in 14 Dance Krazy’s, 1997-2011. This will be the first one for me in teacher mode. I reckon it’s going to be a very strange experience on the day, but I’m so looking forward to it.
I’ve spoken before (in particular on my work account on Snapchat) about how it’s hard to switch off with this job. You don’t just work the couple of hours that you’re in the studio, there’s sooooooo much time spent planning, reviewing, creating, choreographing, video making, music editing… I love it, but it ends up being very time consuming. I definitely didn’t give my teachers the credit they deserved – you just don’t realise how in-depth this job is until you do it yourself. And I’m only a teacher – I don’t own the business or own the school. How Ms Hall finds time to sleep, I’ll never know!

girls-blur‘Me and My Girls’ – Commercial Jazz Rehearsal

AND the main thing about all this: you can’t switch off. My brain doesn’t care if it’s Saturday night and I have a film on, or if I’m out at the pub. If I get inspiration (for a piece, class, whatever), I have to go with it. Coz you don’t know when you might get it again! Thankfully my nearest and dearest are very understanding and have learned to deal with me if I suddenly say ‘hold that thought, I’ve just figured out how the spacing will work in section 7 – bear with whilst I write it down!’.

Show time is worse. There’s technically less choreography to worry about (coz now they’re all finished, it’s just my adult classes I have to plan for). But there’s 10 times more stress. Especially when you’re working to a short time scale.

choreo

BUT. Whilst it’s stressful, it’s SO exciting. I love show time. Being on the other side of it is different. It’s not the first time, I choreographed school productions etc, but this is on a totally different level – maybe because it’s my job and I’m so invested in it. Give it 9 days, I might decide that actually, it’s JUST stressful – I’ll keep you posted πŸ˜‰Β 

Rehearsals have always filled me with excitement, however hard they are. And the feeling when things start going right is simply immense. So here we go. Last week of rehearsals. There’s still lots of hard work that needs to be done – but I remain positive and optimistic, look forward to seeing all my girls this week, AND going along to have a sneaky peek at other rehearsals too.

All that’s left to say, is that I wish all involved lots of love and luck! And don’t forget to use your peripheral vision πŸ˜‰

Lynette x
Leave a Reply

