Dance Krazy ’17…


Almost 2 weeks since Dance Krazy. I’m not quite sure how that happened. But seen as it was my first Dance Krazy in teacher mode, it HAD to get a specially dedicated blog post.
(I wish my camera was better quality – the pics I’ve included are from the back of the Grand Circle with my little Canon…but you get the idea!)

Behind the scenes of Dance Krazy 2017

Starting writing this though, I’m not sure where it’s going to go if I’m honest, I’m not sure what I’m going to say. Coz I don’t like being mushy – anyone who knows me knows I’m very blunt. I say it as it is – whether it’s something good or bad. But I DID get a little emotional on show day. I think it was probably a mix of relief and pride. Relief that all that hard work of running and cleaning and polishing and taking the pieces apart was worth it. And pride for my girls. For their outstanding work ethic and commitment to the routines. It was such a rewarding experience. And especially when you hear from the girls themselves how much they enjoyed working on/doing the piece. 

img_1780
‘Me and My Girls’ – Commercial Jazz

I’ve been very relaxed for the last week. I put a lot of pressure on myself for Dance Krazy. I know I did. And now I can breathe a HUGE sigh of a relief that everything turned out the way I imagined. 

The entire show was gorgeous. Viv did an amazing job (as always) and the girls and boys were all FAB. You could tell that they were all enjoying themselves up there on that stage.  And that’s the main thing, isn’t it? It was a longgg day, as it always is, and after the dress rehearsal I saw a LOT of sleepy faces. Especially after stuffing faces with tea. Although, this time, I heard no threats of being sick, so that’s a step up from Christmas Crackers! 

img_1763
‘Army Girls’ – Street Dance

I feel like there needs to be a massive shout out to the Studio 3 Red T-Shirt ladies – the backstage runners and organisation Queens in charge of the children backstage. The show simply wouldn’t happen without you. And, I’d like to take a selfish moment to shoutout to the original creator of the Red T-Shirt lady idea, the guru herself, my own Mama P. It wasn’t Dance Krazy until you saw Yvonne in Stage Manager mode, running round with her bits of paper, organising all of backstage AS WELL as being my quick changer. Forever grateful and proud of this wonderful woman. 

img_1761
‘The Mould’ – Lyrical Jazz

So I guess that’s where I went with the post. I got mushy. For which I apologise, I hate to get mushy. But if there was any time to do it – this would be it. I already knew I was happy being back home and doing a job I love. But when it’s so incredibly rewarding, and having had such a strong support network, both in the run up to the show and on the day (you know who you are ❤️) – it’s just confirmed what I already knew. I’ve said it to her before, but I’m so grateful to Viv for allowing/welcoming me back so warmly and letting me embark on my new dream. Forever thankful to the woman who’s been an inspiration since I was 4.

Signing off before I get any more cringey

Lynette x
Leave a Reply

