Celtic Spirit…


Saturday 22nd April saw the return of Studio 3’s biennial show, ‘Celtic Spirit’. This was only the second show (the first was in April 2015), but the plan is in place to perform at the Frazer Theatre every two years. I missed the last show because I was in London training, but now I’m back… you couldn’t keep me away! 

It was a fantastic show. Act 1 loosely based on Michael Flately’s ‘Lord of the Dance’, and Act 2 a selection of other Irish dances the girls have been working on in class. Act 1 I especially enjoyed; I spent my childhood dancing round the living room to ‘Lord of the Dance’ and ‘Riverdance’. My Nan even made me a flamenco costume so that when that piece came on on her VHS, I could prance around the living room in full character. I can’t remember whether that was before or after the dress she made me for my first ever choreography competition in 1999 – because after all of that prancing around, when it came to making up a solo, it HAD to be from Riverdance (refer to Featured Image for Lynette in costume at Dance Krazy 2000). 

Watching the show DID make me a little jealous though. Whilst I had the opportunity to train in so many styles at Bird, Irish wasn’t on of them. So when I moved away in 2011, I waved goodbye to my Riverdance classes and haven’t done one since. Which is really quite sad, because I adored it, it was one of my favourites. And it was always that that got bought out at the school fairs and Knaresborough events. 

I find it very hard these days to go to a professional show and not find something to be critical about. But not Riverdance and Lord of the Dance. If you haven’t seen an Irish show live, I URGE you to get yourself to one. They’re absolutely incredible. I could say, maybe it’s because I had so much admiration for them when I was younger that I can’t find fault…but I don’t think it’s that. They’re such a spectacle for so many reasons, there’s something in those shows for everyone. Thunderstorm (for example) did, and always will, give me goosebumps:

A clip from the 1996 show, filmed at Radio City Music Hall.
(This was the version I had on VHS and grew up to)

Actually, thinking about it, I’m pretty sure my parents have been to more shows than I have! It seems that every year there’s a tour of one of the many Irish shows – and they ALWAYS manage to get tickets (get yourself in touch with Mama P, she clearly has the inside scoop). It’s been years since I last got to see one – I should probably find out how she does it and get myself to the next one! 

Just before I sign off for today, I want to say a massive well done to all the girls involved in Celtic Spirit, you were all fab. And Viv, of course – yet another fantastic show.

Lynette x
Leave a Reply

